The South Sudanese government has initiated a move to introduce Swahili in her school curriculums ahead of its adoption as an official language.

The South Sudanese Vice President Taban Deng Gai requested for Swahili teachers from the Tanzania’s Vice President Samia Hassan Tuesday in the African Union Summit

The East African Community (EAC) on which South Sudan is a member, in a commitment entered in 2007 adopted Swahili as the official language for member countries

Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania – use Swahili as their official language alongside English.

Rwanda is yet to make it its fourth official language after national language Kinyarwanda, French, and English

International, News